My Favourite Travel Quotes

For as long as I can remember, I have found comfort in mantras. Lines that I could repeat to still my mind, excite my heart, and fuel my soul have marked chapters of my life. So when I left home and the life that I had curated and crafted, I depended quotes and mantras to help carry me across the threshold. So maybe these ones will inspire or validate your dreams as much as they have for me:

On following your heart: 

  • Dreaming, after all, is a form of planning. -Gloria Steinem
  • I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, to discover that I had not lived. -Henry David Thoreau
  • Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined. Henry David Thoreau
  • I got my own back. -Maya Angelou
  • Shine on, you crazy diamond. -Pink Floyd

On travel: 

  • Not all those who wander are lost. – J.R.R. Tolkien
  • And into the forest I go, to lose my mind and find my soul. -John Muir
  • Eat well. Travel often. 
  • Saltwater cures all wounds.
  • Ah, the smell of salt and sand. There is no elixir on this blessed earth like it.
  • If you’re twenty-two, physically fit, hungry to learn and be better, I urge you to travel. – Anthony Bourdain
  • We have nothing to lose and a world to see.

On leaving family & friends: 

  • If there ever comes a day when we can’t be together, keep me in your heart. I’ll stay there forever. -Winnie The Pooh
  • How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard. -Winnie The Pooh
  • No matter where you are on this planet, we all share the same sky and sun. We all walk on the same ground. It’s all connected. You’re never far from home. 
  • Good friends are like stars. You don’t always see them, but you know they’re always there. -Christy Evans

What are some of YOUR favourite travel quotes?

Leave a Reply

